jump to navigation

Lose the bra…or your job…Really? March 6, 2012

Posted by TelUS Consulting Services in Job Opportunities.
trackback

One Atlanta woman’s unmentionables are coming in for an awful lot of public mentions–she’s claiming she lost her job because of her bra.

For the past eight months, Vashawn Dennis has sorted mail with StaffMark, a UPS contractor. She’s also set off the metal detector whenever she comes to work–thanks to the underwire in her bra. Two weeks ago she was told the bra had to go.

“I was told by my supervisor after I went through the metal detector that I couldn’t wear my underwire bras to work,” Dennis told Atlanta’s WXIA TV. “I told her that’s the only kind of bra I could wear because of the support. I need that support. It was either ‘change your bra, or you don’t have a job’,” Dennis said.

Susan Rosenberg, a UPS spokeswoman, told the TV station that Dennis had not been fired and, to her knowledge, she does not have a history of setting off the metal detectors. “We require our employees to go through security screening without incident. To our knowledge, we have not had issues with underwire garments going off in the past, but would encourage her to wear a different undergarment to work.”

She said the incident was under investigation. In 2008, when filmmaker Nancy Kates set off a metal detector during a security screening at Oakland International Airport because of her bra, Kates objected to a pat-down: “You can’t treat me as a criminal for wearing a bra,” she said. She went to the bathroom, removed it, and went through the screening bra-less. She later reported that a supervisor had told her that underwire bras were the top culprit for security false alarms.

Thursday, StaffMark offered to give Dennis a job at another facility. But she said she’s not interested in returning to the company–and that she plans to  take legal action. “If I’m not causing a security threat, then what’s the problem? They’re telling us what kind of bras to wear. That’s not fair to any woman.”

40 years and if I once ever told a woman to lose the bra…I would have had a harassment suit. Times they are a changing.

Joe Buck, NCE

